Home / US / 22 states are suing the Trump administration over new coal regulations

22 states are suing the Trump administration over new coal regulations

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – A coalition of 22 democratically-led states has sued the Trump administration over its decision to ease restrictions on coal-fired power plants and replace it with a new rule that gives states more leeway in deciding There are upgrades for coal power plants.

The lawsuit filed with the US Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit states that the new anti-federal rule violates the Clean Air Act because it does not usefully replace greenhouse gas emissions from power plants.

"We know what our future energy will be like, and we will not follow the misguided proposal of President Trump, California Attorney General Xavier Becerra." said. "Because we are ready to tackle the climate crisis directly, we are ready to put President Trump directly on trial."

The lawsuit was filed by Attorney General in California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii. Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and the District of Columbia.

Six locals joined them Governments: Boulder, Colorado; Chicago, Los Angeles, New York City, Philadelphia and South Miami, Florida.

Analysis of the new regulations by the EPA predicts that by 2030, between 300 and 1,500 additional people will die every year due to additional air pollution from the grid. But EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler said in June that Americans wanted "reliable energy they can afford," and he expected more coal plans to be opened as a result.

Source link