Home / Science / Buck Moon lunar eclipse on July 4th: what you should know

Buck Moon lunar eclipse on July 4th: what you should know



The moon will have its own show on July 4th.

A lunar eclipse is scheduled for the night of July 4 through the morning of July 5. The solar eclipse will be visible in most parts of North and South America. You can see the best times to see the solar eclipse here.

The solar eclipse begins at 11:04 p.m. EDT (10:04 p.m. CDT) and ends at 01:56 a.m. EDT (00:56 a.m. CDT).

Today̵

7;s solar eclipse is known as a partial penumbra eclipse, a solar eclipse that occurs when the moon goes through the outer edges of the Earth’s shadow, known as Pendumbra. Most people won’t see any major changes on the moon except for the darkening of its surface, but that will be visible without a telescope.

“Buck Moon”

July’s full moon is known as “Buck Moon”.

According to the Farmer’s Almanac, the full moon in July is known as the “buck moon” because the antlers of a goat are in full growth mode at this time of the year. Due to the spring thunderstorms, the moon is also known as the “thunder moon”.

Moon names come from the history of the Native Americans.

Upcoming full moon names are:

August – full-moon

September – full moon

October – full hunter moon

November – full beaver moon

December – all cold moon


Source link