قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Entertainment / FaceApp responds to privacy concerns – TechCrunch

FaceApp responds to privacy concerns – TechCrunch



FaceApp, the AI-driven selfie-editing app that has recently experienced another viral moment, has now responded to a privacy controversy we discussed earlier here. The end of this post.

There was concern that FaceApp, a Russian startup, uploads users' photos to the cloud – without telling them that processing is not happening locally on their computer

Another problem faced by FaceApp Users was raised, the iOS app seems to override the settings if a user has denied access to his camera role after it has been reported that he can still select a photo and upload, ie although the app not available permission to access their photos.

As we have already reported, the latter behavior is actually allowed in iOS. This allows users to lock an app for full access to camera roles, but select individual photos to upload if they so desire.

This is not a conspiracy, though Apple could probably describe the permit in a better way, as we indicated earlier.

Concerning the Broader Question of Cloud Processing of Face Data, FaceApp confirms that most of the processing needed to beautify, enhance, age, and defuse the app is in the cloud.

However, only photos that users have specifically selected for editing are uploaded. Security tests have also found no evidence that the app is uploading the entire camera roll of a user.

FaceApp indicates that photos selected by users may be stored in the cloud for a short period of time "Performance and Traffic" ̵

1; to ensure that a user does not repeatedly upload the same photo for further editing.

"Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours of the upload date," he adds.

It is also claimed that no user data is "transferred to Russia" even though the R & D team is there. The proposal is therefore that storage and cloud processing will be done through an infrastructure outside of Russia. (We asked to confirm where this is done. Update: Founder Yaroslav Goncharov informed us that it uses AWS and Google Cloud.)

"We do not sell or share user data with any Third, "he adds.

FaceApp also says that users can request that their data be deleted. This does not work smoothly yet. Instead, users are prompted to submit deletion requests through the mobile app. Use "Settings-> Support-> Report an error" with the word "Privacy" in the subject line. It should also be noted that the vast majority of FaceApp users are not logging on. In most cases, it is not possible to associate photos with identities. 19659002] Full Explanation:

We receive many requests regarding our privacy policy and would like to give you some points that explain the basics:

1. FaceApp performs most photo processing in the cloud. We upload only one photo selected by a user for editing. We never transfer other pictures from the phone to the cloud.

. 2 We may save an uploaded photo in the cloud. The main reason for this is performance and traffic: we want to make sure that the user does not upload the photo repeatedly during each edit. Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours of the upload date.

. 3 We accept requests from users to remove all their data from our servers. Our support team is currently overburdened, but these requests are our priority. For the fastest processing we recommend to send the requests from the FaceApp Mobile App via "Settings-> Support-> Report an error" with the word "Privacy" in the subject line. For this we are working on the better user interface.

. 4 All FaceApp features are available without logging in, and you can only log in using the settings screen. As a result, 99% of users do not log in. Therefore, we do not have access to data that could identify a person.

. 5 We do not sell user data and do not share it with third parties.

. 6 Although the research and development team is located in Russia, the user data is not transferred to Russia.

In addition, we would like to comment on one of the most common concerns: All gallery images are subsequently uploaded to our servers A user grants access to the photos (eg https://twitter.com/ joshuanozzi / status / 1150961777548701696 ). We do not do that. We upload only one photo that has been selected for editing. You can quickly check this with any of the network sniffing tools available on the Internet.


Source link