قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Technology / Facebook app secretly accesses people's cameras as they read messages

Facebook app secretly accesses people's cameras as they read messages



The Facebook app secretly records on iPhone cameras as their users scroll through their newsfeed.

The strange behavior has led to a number of concerns that the camera may secretly record people while they use the app. Unlike Apple's computers, there is no ad when an app is accessing the camera, so it's possible for an app to be hidden.

Facebook indicates that the strange behavior was caused by an error that was accidentally added to the code and that there is no indication that photos or videos are being sent to its servers. The company claims that Apple has already submitted an update that should remove it.

Meanwhile, the potential security flaws can be avoided by a simple fix in the iPhone settings, which prevents Facebook from seeing the camera at all.

The error occurred for the first time after users found that the app occasionally moved the entire feed to the right. as part of what seemed to be a bug. Under this main app was another screen to see ̵

1; showed a video of the built-in camera phone.

Facebook "We recently found that version 244 of the Facebook iOS App in landscape mode can not be started properly, "said a Facebook spokesman. "When we fixed the issue last week in v246 (launched on November 8th), we inadvertently fixed a bug that caused the app to navigate partially to the camera screen next to the news feed when users tapped photos." 19659090] Read more

"We have not seen any evidence that photos or videos were uploaded because of this error. We're submitting the update to Apple today. "

In a series of tweets, Facebook's Vice President for Integrity, Guy Rosen, stated that content would not be stored in the app or sent to Facebook and that this would be the case be fixed soon.

" By triggering this Error, the camera preview was activated. After triggering, the preview remained active until you tapped elsewhere in the app. The preview content was never saved by the app or uploaded to our servers. "He wrote.

" We confirmed that we did not upload anything to FB because of this bug and that the camera did not record anything because it was in preview mode was. We have sent the app a fixed version store that is already shipped.

In the meantime, the issue can be resolved by revoking Facebook's access to the camera by going to the Settings app and navigating to the Facebook option, clicking this option will result in a series permissions granted to the app, including the ability to access the camera, which can be disabled by changing the switch.

This also means that Facebook can no longer access the camera for more legitimate features or features such as the ability to capture and upload an image directly from the app.

Social media is becoming more and more important ground in elections – and home to many questionable claims that have been pumped out from all sides If we do not investigate the truth of divisive advertising, we will do so. Please send any political Facebook ads you receive to digitaldemo cracy@independent.co.uk and we will catalog and investigate. Here you can read more about it.


Source link