قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / US / Hurricane Lane could arrive near Hawaii next week

Hurricane Lane could arrive near Hawaii next week



Hurricane Lane, a devastatingly strong Category 4 storm, now moves west-northwest over the Pacific and is due to weaken towards Wednesday and pass south of the Aloha state.

  This forecast cone was created at 5 pm ET Saturday (11 am HT Friday), showing the probable range of Hurricane Lane Center for five days.
But the track is so insecure so early, and there's a chance Lane could bring winds of at least tropical storm strength (39 mph and up) to Hawaii's Big Island by Tuesday night, says the Central Pacific Hurricane Center.
Early Saturday, the storm was more than 1,200 miles east-southeast of Hilo, Hawaii, with maximum sustained winds of 130 mph – the lowest threshold for a Category 4.

The storm could strengthen Saturday and Sunday, but it is expected to weaken to a category y 1 (sustained winds of 74-95 mph) by Tuesday or Wednesday, says the National Hurricane Center

  predictive models for Hurricane Lane, starting at 8 pm ET (2 pm HT) Saturday

Six computer predictive models predict that Lanes Center will drive south of Hawaii next week, but the outer bands will could still be strong winds to the islands when the center is close enough.

Lane approaches more than a week after Hawaii saw Hurricane Hector in the south.

Source link