Show thumbnails

Show captions

Last slideNext slide

Welcome to the 102nd Indianapolis 500!

We will have leadership changes, falls, reactions, and other developments, so stay with us during the race.

Please upgrade for the latest .


Round 10 : Top 5 starters keep their positions: Carpenter, Pagenaud, Power, Newgarden, Bourda is

8. Round : Danica Patrick has dropped from 7th to 12th place; Alexander Rossi moved up from 32nd to 26th place.

Tony Kanaan moves from 10th to sixth place in the first 2 rounds.

Round 1 : Ed Carpenter leads. Simon Pagenaud and Will Power fight for 2nd place.

The race is going green!


Tony George gives the order to start engines

Tires and races: Victor Oladipo does not want to go the pace car

This Voice: Jim Cornelison follows in the footsteps of Indy 500 icon Jim Nabor

Sébastien Bourdais starts in fifth due to missing last year's races a qualifying crash.

Scott Dixon Champion of the Year 2008, who finishes ninth, "We're confident it's never easy here."

Tony Kanaan The 2013 Champion is 10th Start: "Consistent and flawless, you can not afford a single hiccup."

Takuma Sato the reigning 16th race racer says his first hot laps made him emotional, but he got down to work.

Alexander Rossi the winner of the 2016 race starting on the 32nd: "Obviously we are disappointed but it does not change (our approach).

Danica Patrick starting seventh:" Me I could not imagine a better place to end my career. … The work to be done is to stay calm, to stay positive. "She remembered the first piece of advice she received from Al Unser Jr in 2005:" It's a long race and I do not think it's over. "

Spencer Pigot the sixth will be:" We are all very happy with the cars we had (in Ed Carpenter Racing). "This team has starter No. 1 (Ed Carpenter), 6 and 7 ( Danica Patrick)

Helio Castroneves triple race champion, starts eighth: "It's always something else." He's not a regatta rider from IndyCar this season.

Josef Newgarden IndyCar leader and defending champion who finished fourth: "You'll know what kind of racing car you have 100 comes in. "[19659012] Will Power starting in third place:" You can never tell when it's your year, but you can only do your homework. … We have put ourselves in a good position.

Simon Pagenaud who begins second: "I am no longer indicated (by the Speedway) anymore. I can master this place. I can.

Pole Sitter Ed Carpenter : "Normally, the winner of the race will face adversity at least once, if not more. …

Actor Chris Hemsworth waves the green flag. Here is the most important piece of advice he received: "Do not let him fall."

James Hinchcliffe who did not qualify for the race, says he helps his teammates Robert Wickens and Jay Howard: "It's weird to be on a racetrack and unwilling to be ready."

Pole Sitter Ed Carpenter expects early challenges for the leadership: "Everyone will work to get ahead."


Show thumbnails

Show captions

Last slideNext slide

Traffic: Do not be late for the biggest spectacle in racing

Race Before the Race: The Heat and More: All You Need to Know When You Set Off IMS


Starting grid: Here are the 33 cars and drivers for the Indy 500 [19659023] Minute by Minute: What happens today on the Speedway

More Preview

People ask that: What do drivers do when they need to use the bathroom

Danica: At their last race, the Indy 500 has gotten away and why it can win

Pole Sitter: Hometown -Love Ed Carpenter Delights Speedway Crowd

It costs you: Find an Uncle Moneybags if you want to set up an Indy 500 Team

Large Quantity: You do not imagine that; there are about 300,000 people

Random Knowledge

Quiz your friends and prepare for the race with these race dates.

Engines : Seven of the Fast Nine qualifiers use Chevrolet engines. Twice Honda.

Powerteams : Team Penske has four riders with good grid positions (Simon Pagenaud, 2, Will Power, 3, Josef Newgarden, 4, Helio Castroneves, 8) and Ed Carpenter Racing has three strong driver qualifiers (Ed Carpenter, 1, Spencer Pigot, 6; Danica Patrick, 7).

Race winner in the field : Helio Castroneves (grid position 8, won the race in 2001, # 02, # 09); Scott Dixon (9, 2008); Tony Kanaan (10th, 2013); Ryan Hunter-Reay (14, 2014); Takuma Sato (16, 2017); Alexander Rossi (32nd, 2016).

Renner : Matheus Leist (from 11th); Zachary Claman De Melo (13th); Kyle Kaiser (17th); Robert Wickens (18th)

He is always there : Tony Kanaan participates in his 289th consecutive IndyCar race. The series began in 2001.