ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – After a 21-minute delay amidst a 3-2 win at the Red Sox Wednesday afternoon at Tropicana Field, the referees tried to explain it to both Red Sox manager Alex Cora and his Tampa Bay colleague Kevin Cash, why Adam Kolarek was included in the lineup in which he was.
Kolarek had switched from the pitcher back to the pitcher, and Cora denied the original lineup card submitted by crew chief Angel Hernandez after the move.
The Red Sox claim was that the first deployment card they saw after the move was not listed on Kolarek's list. This order had fallen to Hernandez after Cash had not determined where he wanted to beat his player. Later, after consultation of arbitrators, the correct version of the beat order was presented.
All this led to a protest by Red Sox and a pool reporter who interviewed Hernandez: [1
Hernandez: He did not tell me.
Q: What was Cora about?
Hernandez: The dispute on the pitch related to the batting order in which the pitcher went on the defensive. So the rule is: who moves into a defensive position, Rule 5:11. When the launcher of a game is changed from the hill to a defensive position, that turn ends the designated hit roll for the remainder of the game. The pitcher who has just been removed from the mound can beat at the position of the club specified in the batting order. If more than one defense change is made, the pitcher can beat instead of one of the replaced players. The manager must assign the referee the place in the batting order.
Q: So what did Cora want you to do?
Hernandez: He wanted to know what was going on, so we told him that it did not change the outcome of everything that had happened so far. What we did is rule 5: 10.b. If the manager does not make or decline a decision, the referee has the right to determine the required order of batting. The decision of the referee is final.
Q: So that does not leave much room for protests, does it?
Hernandez: That's exactly what we were trying to tell him. But he wanted to protest. We went to the headsets to check. But it takes a long time to explain how you saw it, and then check it out with playback. The problem seems to be that he did not do his part at first and did not place Kolarek anywhere in the lineup … pic.twitter.com/TAX7xGM5on
– Rob Bradford (@bradfo) July 24, 2019
"> For more information about the incident click here.