قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Sports / New York Yankees confused about tagging call against Los Angeles Angels

New York Yankees confused about tagging call against Los Angeles Angels



ANAHEIM, Calif. Confusion remained the prevailing sentiment for the New York Yankees late on Friday night as some struggled to find out what happened during a bizarre sequence in the midst of their match against the Los Angeles Angels. [196592002] Since Yankee's first baseman Neil Walker's would-be three-run homer could not start in an inning-end double, they still escaped the game with a run. Later repetitions made one wonder if she should have received it.

This run eventually proved necessary for the Yankees as well. A ninth inning rally, followed by Didi Gregorius & # 39; Homer in tenth place, helped New York beat the Angels 4: 3.

"I was not sure what was going on," Yankees said Fielder Giancarlo Stanton the key players of the sequence in question. "It was one of those weird games with the repetition and all that."

The strange series of events occurred in the upper part of the sixth innings when Walker boxed the runners in places two and three and one. Gregorius was in third place after coming to a single from Leadoff Brunt. Stanton was in the second base.

Two pitches in Walker at-bat, he jumped a 0-1

fastball, who looked from the bat as if it would be a home run.

Angels right fielder Kole Calhoun had different plans. Calhoun, who had previously torn a heavily hit descent into the gap during a dive, jumped up against the wall to grab the Walker ball. As his glove returned with the ball over the wall, Calhoun turned around and immediately threw himself to second base.

When Shortstop Andrelton Simmons got hit in the infield and stepped up to second base, second base referee Angel Hernandez dominated Stanton. Stanton was not in second position and was therefore out, the referee decided.

But replays showed that the runner was in fact tagging at the same moment Calhoun caught the ball.

"I was pretty sure I was tagged," Stanton said. "At the moment, and I thought it would be close enough to look at it, I do not know."

In addition to the controversy over whether Stanton left the base early or not, there was further intrigue over whether the second base's exit had taken place before Gregorius stepped on the house board. Gregorius, who also emerged from third position, might have crossed the plate shortly after Simmons stepped onto the second step.

Said Walker: "There was certainly some confusion there."

The referees' decision was that Gregorius had come in (19659002) "I thought that was the case, so I was just well focused on it, and when the home referee said he had definitely hit, I shifted our attention Yankees manager Aaron Boone said

The Yankees went into the lead 2-1 in the lead

Boone added that at the time he had the truth about the referee's assertion that Stanton would not have tagged in Asking questions can not provide time anymore.

Under MLB rules, games where runners are tagged from the second base are not verifiable. However, Boone could have challenged the game on "border" rules as the game started with an event on a border (the wall). The examination office of the league would have been able to review the entire play and undo any part of it that was wrong.

"I should not have waited for the challenge," Boone said. I could have gone [and said to the umpires] if I had been before, border 'you are looking at everything in this context. "


Source link