قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Sports / Replay confirms a controversial appeal, correcting another in Baltimore Orioles' victory over New York Yankees

Replay confirms a controversial appeal, correcting another in Baltimore Orioles' victory over New York Yankees



NEW YORK – Replay confirmed referees were correct in a controversial call that occurred late in the Baltimore Orioles 14-inning 7-3 win over the New York Yankees on Friday night at Yankee Stadium, according to crew boss Jerry Meals [19659002] In the match in question, Yankee's shortstop Didi Gregorius attempted from third base on the floor of 11th innings on a two-out field of Orioles relief Mychal Givens. The ascent would have given the Yankees victory.

When Gregorius plunged into the dish, Givens caught a shot from catcher Caleb Joseph as he fell on his bottom.

It seemed that Givens was lying on the ground, blocking Gregorius »For a moment on the plate, before he caught Joseph's ball, and just as the base runner ̵

1; in the midst of a dive – grabbed for the plate. Gregorius did not arrive home in time when the couple came in contact.

Plate referee Ed Hickox waited a moment after the contact to see if Givens held the ball. Seeing the ball in Givens' glove, Hickox called Gregorius and told the Yankees to challenge the call, arguing Givens had Gregorius & # 39; Path to the gate blocked illegally.

"I thought he blocked the plate before it got there" We certainly thought so, "said Yankees manager Aaron Boone," I understand that this is a difficult call in this situation.

"It did not go our way."

In a statement to a pool reporter, Meals said the recurrence confirmed that Hickox had made the right call.

"Replay has the ultimate voice, and there was no block on the plate," Meals said. "He, in this situation, the player is considered the occupied player to save the ball and / or has the ball."

When asked if Givens must possess the ball before Gregorius entered, Meals said no.

"He does not do it," Meals said. "If he gets the ball in this situation, he may occupy that room while he's at it."

The Yankees were disappointed with the verdict, but at least they were glad that the game did not cost them their shortstop.

"I thought Didi got a good jump on it," right-fielder Aaron Judge said, "Bang-Bang play at home record. I'm just glad Didi is OK, and not hurt. "

In addition to this game, there was another controversial in the sixth inning with Yankees duo Giancarlo Stanton and Gary Sanchez. New York was unjustly the beneficiary of this call, Meals said

Stanton started the game in question on the third base and Sanchez was first, with one of them landing a groundball back on Orioles pitcher Richard Bleier, who ran to Stanton and brought him into a rundown Sanchez advanced to third base

When Sanchez arrived in third place, Stanton decided to go back to the base as well, and as he saw Sanchez he kept running towards the Joseph left his word for it

Only one was awarded, but according to MLB rules, two had to be forgiven.

Sanchez should have been called automatically because he had essentially Stanton had passed on the bases. Once the label had been applied to Stanton, he would also have been dismissed. This means that the game should end in a double game. That's not how it happened.

After a long discussion among the umpires, which contained a vociferous argument from Orioles manager Buck Showalter, the verdict was of a single one – Stanton –

The MLB rulebook actually cites a similar example of a Trail Runner (Sanchez ), who reaches a base while the lead runner (Stanton) is in a rundown. The rule says, "The trailing runner is out and the third base is vacant." The leading runner is entitled to the third base if he returns before he is out … unless he is declared to be leaving the base. " [196592002

"What we had in the field what Ronnie [third-base umpire Ron Kulpa] had on the field was, as soon as Stanton ran into lazy territory there, he had him He gave Sanchez the base, and as she did he was not out.

"That was our explanation in the field. We were wrong. The decision is when a runner passes by the second, in this situation, when a runner has occupied the second third and the lead runner goes beyond the third base into the outfield or wherever, the interpretation is that the runner from the second the runner is over, the lead runner, so he is automatically eliminated without being tagged.

"Sanchez should have gotten off automatically because he passed Stanton."


Source link