قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Technology / SmugMug buys Flickr for undisclosed sum

SmugMug buys Flickr for undisclosed sum



  SmugMug and Flickr

Photo sharing site SmugMug – used by consumers and professionals alike – has agreed to acquire Flickr from Yahoo owner Oath. The contract provides that Flickr will continue to operate as a separate entity.

The goal is to expand what is known as "the world's best home for photography" and build on Flickr's existing 1

00 million member user base. But what does the acquisition mean for Flickr users and what does that mean for SmugMug customers?

Both companies want to emphasize that nothing will change. That said, SmugMug says it will migrate Flickr to SmugMug's technology infrastructure, but there's no indication of when this will happen. The company also says "we have no plans for immediate change", but of course this does not completely exclude changes, and the term "immediate" is open to interpretation.

A message on the SmugMug website

SmugMug has taken over Flickr

If you use our products today, just rest, they're not going anywhere.

The future is bright, but we will only get together.

Let's do it.

SmugMug makes it clear that Flickr will remain completely separate, and there are currently no plans to either remove free Flickr subscriptions or change the price of paid Flickr subscriptions. for packages. The Company also endeavors to reassure users that no further changes are planned to the Services except for a "possible" change to SmugMug Terms of Use – SmugMug uses the word "possibly", but Flickr states:

As part of the Acquisition, all Flickr accounts are moved to the SmugMug Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. You may opt out or opt out of SmugMug's terms and conditions and privacy policy until 25 May 2018. If you do not do anything during this time, your account will simply be changed from the current Yahoo Terms of Service and Privacy Policy to the SmugMug Terms of Use. If you do not want to make this change, you can delete your Flickr account from the Account Settings page. If you want to keep a copy of your photos, you should first download them from your camera roll!

In an FAQ about the takeover, SmugMug says:

What happens to my Flickr account? What will happen to my Smugmug account?

Absolutely nothing. Flickr and SmugMug will both operate separately as before. Your SmugMug and Flickr accounts will remain separate and independent for the foreseeable future.

Both Flickr and SmugMug users will continue logging in with their current credentials and you will have the same experience you are used to. As things change for Flickr in the future, we will be as transparent as possible about the process and will inform you as much as possible about the issues that matter to you.

Flickr users who have questions about what procurement can contact the official discussion thread in the site's Help Forums.


Source link