Most people probably have not noticed that SpaceX's profit margin has significantly improved with their last missile launch.
Elon Musk said they can reuse the two halves of the panels. The panels are the nose bone of the rocket. The Nosone corner is split into two parts to expose the rocket payload after the rocket clears the atmosphere.
The two halves are fairly light, but cost about $ 6 million. SpaceX costs about $ 62 million per launch, but has an operating profit in excess of 30%. SpaceX has waterproofed the panels and provided parachutes so they will not be damaged when landing.
The profit margin for any future launch with reused panels will increase the win of this mission by 10%.
SpaceX has the first first stage of Falcon 9, Block 5, successfully used for launch third time. It was successfully landed. The first stage accounts for about 70% of the rocket costs. SpaceX shows that they can reuse the first steps at least four times. I believe SpaceX can achieve the goal of reusing ten. They meant ten reuses before they were serviced and used up to hundreds of times further.
There are costs for recovering the first stage, testing and minor maintenance before they are reused. Also the refueling is necessary every time.
If SpaceX valued its $ 62 million Falcon 9 with a 30% profit margin, without assuming successful reusability, the startup cost for a non-reusable Falcon 9 mark would be $ 43.4 million Level is 70% of $ 43.4 million or $ 30.4 million. Another $ 6 million cost the panels. The "70% of rocket costs are the first stage" and "$ 6 million for the disguises" were both statements by Elon Musk. I assume that the panels will have the same reuse levels as the first tier. My feeling is that undamaged panels are easier to reuse, as damage can be prevented.
$ 36.4 million of $ 43.4 million is now reusable. 83.9% of the costs are reused. $ 7 million remains as the second stage cost.
SpaceX shows that they can split the cost of the first stage and the disguise to four to ten launches. With a total of four launches, the cost is $ 16.1 million per launch plus recovery, maintenance, and inspection, including the second tier. If there are 10 regular launches, the cost is $ 10.6 million per take plus recovery, maintenance and inspection, including the second stage. $ 7 million per start for the second stage.
Previously, three launches and no fairing had distributed the cost of $ 30.4 million over three plus $ 13 million for the panel and the second tier. Cost of $ 23.1 million for three reuse starts.
The screaming "Noooo !!!" that you heard when SpaceX made another successful start and restored the disguise came from executives at ULA (United Launch Alliance) and Ariane. The Russian space agency has already left the building when they gave up the commercial launch some time ago.
SpaceX will be able to earn $ 46 million per launch when reused four times, and $ 51 million per launch if consistently reused ten times. The operating margin of SpaceX will be 74 +%.
The cost calculation does not include indirect costs such as research and development or distribution, general administrative expenses (SGA). SpaceX has enormous research and development costs.
Brian Wang was invited to the USC class for space design
Brian Wang of Nextbigfuture was invited to share his findings as part of the ASTE527 graduate of the Space Concept's Studio Finals at the University of Southern California (USC), December 11 , I will join via Webex.