Americans are not allowed to travel to EU countries if the block is open to international visitors on July 1



The European Union extended its travel ban for Americans on Thursday as coronavirus infections continued to increase in the United States.

The EU began lifting international travel restrictions on July 1 and welcomed visitors from 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea and Australia. The United States was excluded from this original list, and Americans are prohibited from visiting the block for at least two more weeks following Thursday’s decision announced by the European Council.

The announcement came after EU officials conducted their first bi-weekly travel restrictions review and examined coronavirus trends and containment measures in each country to determine whether the list of approved travelers should be added or narrowed.

The key measure: the outbreak of a pandemic in a particular country must be contained – or even better – better contained than in the EU.

Open borders again: Tourists in Europe and the USA are restricted due to the fear of new virus tips

According to Johns Hopkins University, the United States has exceeded 3.4 million cases with over 137,400 deaths. There were 13.5 million cases worldwide and more than 584,300 deaths.

According to the EU, the bloc, which includes the European Economic Area and the United Kingdom, had a total of 1.6 million cases on July 16.

In Thursday’s decision, the EU said that residents of 12 countries could visit the block, including France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Austria.

Canada, South Korea and Australia remain on the list of approved nations, while Montenegro and Serbia have been removed. No new countries have been added.

The Thursday decree does not apply to trips to the UK, which the EU left in January.

But those from the United States and many other nations are considered too risky because coronavirus cases occur in their home countries. Chinese travelers are allowed to visit if the country’s government confirms a reciprocity policy, the council announced.

The United States still has its own travel restrictions, although the EU and other countries have made significantly more progress in containing the virus. The State Department has maintained its Level 4 travel advice since March, urging Americans to avoid all international travel due to COVID-19.

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo was recently asked whether the Trump administration is aiming for EU reciprocity to decide when or whether to lift the U.S. travel ban on the EU.

He said the discussions about lifting travel restrictions are not political.

“We are in complex discussions about how we can get the science and epidemiology of this right under control and how we can ensure that we reduce the risk,” said Pompeo during a press conference on July 9. “We know that there is a deep need and desire to get the world economy going again, and that includes people who get on planes, travel across Europe and across the Atlantic and indeed around the world.”

Automatic playback

Show thumbnails

Show subtitles

Last slideNext slide

Read or share this story: /